Get Updates

Boards and Commissions

The City has an active Downtown Development Authority (DDA), Planning Commission and Urban Redevelopment Agency (URA). The Mayor and Council appoints members to all boards. The roles are voluntary. All three boards typically meet at 6:00pm in Council Chambers at City Hall.

Downtown Development Authority

The Doraville Downtown Development Authority (DDDA) was created by a Resolution of the Mayor and City Council on May 20, 2013. Pursuant to State law (OCGA 36-42-2), the body’s primary mission is to “revitalize and redevelop” the City’s central business district (map). In addition, the State tasks DDAs with promoting and developing “trade, commerce, industry and employment opportunities” for the general welfare of the State. To accomplish this, DDAs can receive grants and loans, acquire and improve property, enter into contracts and provide bond financing. The DDDA Board of Directors meets quarterly at City Hall. For more information, visit the DDDA webpage or contact the Economic Development Department at 770-451-8745.

Board of Directors

Chris Avers, Acting Chair Term Expires 5/19 chris.avers@doravillega.us
Jimmy Ellis Term Expires 5/19 jimmy.ellis@doravillega.us
Seth Fischer Term Expires 5/21 seth.fiscer@doravillega.us
Harold Shinn Term Expires 5/19 harold.shinn@doravillega.us
Bryan C.W. Tate Term Expires 5/21 Bryan.tate@doravillega.us
Shelby Triick Term Expires 5/17 shelby.triick@doravillega.us
Jonathan Wallace Term Expires 5/19 jonathan.wallace@doravillega.us


Planning Commission

The Commission provides recommendations to the City Council on such matters as zoning ordinance amendments, property zoning changes, land use changes, conditional use permits and variances.  The Commission may also conduct research on other issues at the direction of the City Council.  The Commission typically meets on the first Wednesday of each month at City Hall.  Meetings are open to the public to hear cases and provide comments to the Commission.

To schedule a hearing with the Commission or for more information, contact the Community Development Department at 770-451-8745.  Planning Commissioners are citizen-volunteers appointed by the City Council.

Thom Abbott, Chair Term Expires 04/2019 Thom.abbott@doravillega.us
Elton Mile, Vice Chair Term Expires 04/2019 Elton.mile@doravillega.us
Susan Crawford, Secretary
(2nd term)
Term Expires 04/2021 Susan.crawford@doravillega.us
Danielle Brown
(2nd term)
Term Expires 04/2021 Danielle.brown@doravillega.us
Joseph Geierman Term Expires 04/2021 Joseph.geirman@doravillega.us 

For more information, click here.

Urban Redevelopment Agency

The Urban Redevelopment Agency (URA) was created by the City Council on July 8, 2014 to assume the project management powers of a potential Tax Allocation District. URAs, a cousin to development authorities and DDAs, may also issue Industrial Development Revenue Bonds. URAs are enabled by State statute (OCGA 36-61-18).

Board of Commissioners

Maria Alexander, Chair Term Expires 9/18 Maria.alexander@doravillega.us
Pam Fleming Term Expires 12/19 pam.fleming@doravillega.us
Dawn O'Connor Term Expires 12/17 dawn.o'connor@doravillega.us
Robert Patrick Term Expires 12/17 robert.patrick@doravillega.us
Harold Shinn Term Expires 5/19 harold.shinn@doravillega.us
Warren Simmons Term Expires 9/18 warren.simmons@doravillega.us
Vacancy    

To apply for a position on a citizen board, complete the candidate board/commission application and submit to the City Clerk in person, by mail to City Clerk, 3725 Park Avenue, Doraville, GA 30340, fax 770-936-3862) or email to city.clerk@doravillega.us.