Get Updates
2017 Notice of General Election and Qualifying Information

The City of Doraville, Georgia shall hold Nonpartisan Municipal General Election on Tuesday, November 7, 2017 from 7:00am-7:00pm. A municipality shall fix and publish a qualifying fee for each office to be filled in upcoming election. Such fee shall be (3) three percent of the total gross salary of the office paid in the preceding calendar year including all supplements.



 Qualifying fee

 Council Member, District 1
(Incumbent) Robert Patrick

$8,400.00  (3%) $252.00
 Council Member, District 2
(Incumbent) Dawn O'Connor

 $8,400.00  (3%) $252.00
 Council Member, District 3
(Incumbent) Sharon Spangler

 $8,400.00  (3%) $252.00

Qualification Dates

Qualifying for the 2017 Municipal Election shall be held at City Hall, 3725 Park Ave. Doraville, GA 30340
beginning on Wednesday, August 23, 2017 through Friday, August 25, 2017 from 8:30 am- 4:30 pm

Qualifying Packet 
Election Qualifying Packets are available.

Qualifications to Hold Public Office In the City of Doraville

Pursuant to the Doraville City Charter, the Qualifications of Mayor and Council
Members  shall be as follows:

  • No person shall be eligible for the office of Mayor or Council of Doraville unless he/she have been a resident of Doraville for a period of one (1) year immediately preceding the date of the election, and a resident of Georgia for at least two years; and
  • Shall have attained or passed his/her twenty-first birthday (21); and
  • No person’s name shall be placed on the ballot as a candidate for Mayor or Council member unless such person shall have filed a Notice of Candidacy with the Office of the City Clerk.

The Election Division of the Secretary of State

The Elections Division of the Secretary of State's office organizes and oversees all election activity, including voter registration, municipal, state, county and federal elections. They are responsible for certification of election results as well as certifying the qualification of candidates and preparation of ballots and election forms and materials.

Please follow this link to the official Georgia Secretary of State website: